Lodge History

In 1971, the Great Rivers Council and the Lake of the Ozarks Council received confirmation of the region’s desire for the two councils to merge. The merger of the two councils occurred early the following year. Prior to the merger, both councils had a quite active Order of the Arrow Lodge. It was decided that it would be in the new council’s best interests to pool their resources. This would then allow them to devote all of their efforts toward benefiting the new Great Rivers Council.

Within a few months, Po-E-Mo Lodge #426 and Metab Lodge #216 made their merger official, forming Nampa-Tsi Lodge #216 in 1971. The name Nampa-Tsi was chosen appropriately, for when the phrase is literally translated, it means “two lodges” or “twin lodges” in the words of our native brothers, the Lenni Lenape. Steve Goeke, the last lodge chief of the Po-E-Mo Lodge, became Nampa-Tsi Lodge’s first lodge chief.

Many traditions from both lodges survived the merger and have helped make the program and experience of the Nampa-Tsi Lodge unique. Many people know that Hohn Scout Reservation at the Lake of the Ozarks was started with the help and dedication of long-time Scouters who used to be members of the Metab Lodge. Many fine traditions were started by the Metab Lodge, including Four Fires, the ceremony where candidates would receive tokens upon which to meditate. Po-E-Mo also had many fine traditions to boast. The Thunderbird call-out ceremony is one of the most vivid Nampa-Tsi traditions: The singing and recitation of the legend of the Thunderbird is a rather moving experience. Another tradition is the camping award totem that troops utilize to show how many nights each Scout has gone camping.

In 1996, our lodge celebrated its 25th anniversary, and in 2011 we celebrated our 40th year of unity. We will continue to push forward into the future – the 50th anniversary is truly within sight; however, we shall always revere the past, for many have walked the winding trails and paths in time before us: To them we are truly indebted. We will forever remember those who bravely blazed the path for us, but we shall also continue to perfect and construct paths for our lodge as we strive to better this, our great brotherhood of cheerful service.

Click here to view the Centennial Lodge History Book

National Order of the Arrow History

In 1915, Camp Director E. Urner Goodman and Assistant Camp Director Carroll A. Edson searched for a way to recognize select campers for their cheerful sprits of service at Treasure Island Scout Camp in the Delaware River.  Goodman and Edson founded the Order of the Arrow when they held the first Ordeal Ceremony on July 16th of that year.  By 1921, as the popularity of the organization spread to other camps, local lodges attended the first national gathering called a Grand Lodge Meeting.

The Order of the Arrow was one of many camp honor societies that existed at local Scout camps across the country.  As the years went on and more camps adopted the Order of the Arrow’s program, it gained prominence and became part of the national Boy Scout program in 1934.  By 1948, the OA, recognized as the BSA’s national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the Boy Scouts of America.  Toward the end of the twentieth century, the OA expanded its focus to include conservation, high adventure, and servant-leadership.

Throughout the years, the Order of the Arrow has played an integral role in the program of the Boy Scouts of America and in the community service its members contribute to their communities.  To date, more than one million people have been members of the Order of the Arrow.

Presently, the Order of the Arrow consists of nearly 300 lodges, which form approximately 48 sections in four regions.  Leadership positions and voting rights are restricted to members under the age of 21.  Through the program, members live up to the ideals of brotherhood, cheerfulness, and service set forth by E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson.

Learn more about the OA’s history on the OA History Timeline.

Lodge Chiefs

1972Steve Goeke
1973Curt Cearley
1974Mike Burnham
1975Arthur Freeland
1976Jim Reynolds
1977Terry Maddox
1978Terry Maddox
1979Kent Dooley
1980John Andrews
1981John Andrews
1981Scott Quick
1982Doug Carlson
1983Tim Ziegler
1984Carl Mahoney
1985Jason A. Cruse
1986Jason A. Cruse
1987Mark Scheiderer
1988Scott Johnson
1989Scott Johnson
1990 Ray Brauer
1991 Ryan Bremer
1992 V. Scott Powell
1993 Matt McBride
1994 David Stowe
1995 Jeff Faust
1996 Jake Dulle
1997 Curtis P. Hainds
1998 Curtis P. Hainds
1999 Nick Johnson
1999 Nathan McKinnon
2000 J.C. Feger
2001 Nathan McKinnon
2002 Garrett Thorne
2003 Douglas Johnson
2004 Richard Allen
2005 Daniel Dey
2006 Paul Blesz
2007 Lucas Tucker
2008 Bradley Corwin
2009 Patrick Mahoney
2010 Patrick Mahoney
2011 Josh Bingaman
2012 Michael Burke
2013 Ethan Veit
2014 Ethan Veit
2014 Braedyn Hausdorf
2015 Braedyn Hausdorf
2016 Chance Roberts
2017 Chance Roberts
2017 Lucas McKenzie
2017 Noah Hampton
2018 Noah Hampton
2019 Luke Gallagher
2020 Luke Gallagher
2020 Tate Rigby
2021 Michael Pigg