Awards and Recognition

R.D. Dunkin:

Leadership in Service Award

This award is designed to recognize those who go far beyond their immediate responsibilities as Arrowmen and by doing so have laid a path of excellence for other Arrowmen to follow. The award is named after R.D. Dunkin, who believed that young people can grow to exceptional strengths and reach their full potential with the right combination of leadership, education, mentorship, and love. R.D. Dunkin served as the Central Region Order of the Arrow Chairman for sixteen years and is responsible for shaping the region structure and program into what it is today. Nominations are open until March 13th.

Bear Scholarship




Richard “Bear” Eberly was a Scout, a Scouter, and Arrowman for more than 60 years. He served Scouting as a Scoutmaster (Troop 311, former Wabash Valley Council, Terre Haute, IN); Lodge Adviser (the former Kickapoo Lodge, Wabash Valley Council, Terre Haute, IN); OA Section Adviser; and OA Area Adviser. Bear’s passion was helping youth to be successful in Scouting. Even after his passing in 2002, Bear has been helping youth Arrowmen experience their first Order of the Arrow Section Conclave. Through the sale of Bear’s very large Scouting memorabilia collection, an endowment was created as the Richard “Bear” Eberly Memorial Scholarship. Scholarships are provided to new Ordeal members of each lodge in the section to cover their registration fee at the section conclave.

Section Award of Merit

The Section Award of Merit was designed to honor those who have shown outstanding leadership and service embodying the spirit of the Scout Oath and Law to the section, councils, and lodges of the section. The Section Award of Merit was in use until 2015, when the Council of Chiefs elected to begin presenting the R.D. Dunkin Leadership in Service award instead. Past recipients of the award are listed below.

  • 2014Joey Diefdorf, Logan Greene, Mark Musik, Steve James
  • 2012Michael Weber
  • 2011Andrew Byers, Rex Banter, Matt Kaufman
  • 2010Andrew Byers, Alyx Parker, Ryan Easterling, Chris Taylor
  • 2009Ken Brooks & Bryan Shaffer
  • 2008Aaron Ware, Dennis Laffin, Dale Stelting
  • 2007Duane Thormhalen
  • 2006Ryan Eiteljorge, Jeff Hotchkiss, Mike Peters
  • 2005Tim Goth & James Stolt
  • 2004Andy McKillip & Sara Seaborne
  • 2003Troy Oliviera, Doug Seaborne, Charles Lehman
  • 2001Jason Floyd & Steve Dupaix
  • 2000Craig Tuttle
  • 1998David Yoder
  • 1997PJ Hentrich & Gordon Evans
  • 1996Alex Rhodes
  • 1995Bill Godsworthy & Nick George
  • 1994Brett Higgins & Chad Minor
  • 1993John Barnes, Jay Copra, Darren Norrington
  • 1992Jeff Holladay & Dale Siefker
  • 1991Michael Van Hoover & Charle Bryant
  • 1990Robert Rylicki & Kevin Hobbs
  • 1988Doug Nelson & John Davis
  • 1987Tony Steinhardt III & George Nelson
  • 1985James B. Anderson, Phillip Deardorf, Mark Jenkins
  • 1984Scott Minor & Tom Bassett
  • 1983David Harnish, Cary Dyson, Gordon Springer, Jack Zirkle
  • 1982Craig Kliger, Robert Dalrymple, John Perry, Dan McNeely
  • 1980Mark Pogorski & Terry Hasty
  • 1979Jan "Rusty" Barrell, Richard "Bear" Eberly, Joff Osterman, Art Roth
  • 1978Mark Rutherford & David Eikman