Awards and Recognition

R.D. Dunkin:

Leadership in Service Award

This award is designed to recognize those who go far beyond their immediate responsibilities as Arrowmen and by doing so have laid a path of excellence for other Arrowmen to follow. The award is named after R.D. Dunkin, who believed that young people can grow to exceptional strengths and reach their full potential with the right combination of leadership, education, mentorship, and love. R.D. Dunkin served as the Central Region Order of the Arrow Chairman for sixteen years and is responsible for shaping the region structure and program into what it is today. Nominations are open until March 13th.

Bear Scholarship




Richard “Bear” Eberly was a Scout, a Scouter, and Arrowman for more than 60 years. He served Scouting as a Scoutmaster (Troop 311, former Wabash Valley Council, Terre Haute, IN); Lodge Adviser (the former Kickapoo Lodge, Wabash Valley Council, Terre Haute, IN); OA Section Adviser; and OA Area Adviser. Bear’s passion was helping youth to be successful in Scouting. Even after his passing in 2002, Bear has been helping youth Arrowmen experience their first Order of the Arrow Section Conclave. Through the sale of Bear’s very large Scouting memorabilia collection, an endowment was created as the Richard “Bear” Eberly Memorial Scholarship. Scholarships are provided to new Ordeal members of each lodge in the section to cover their registration fee at the section conclave.