Region History

The region structure as it is known today can be most easily traced back to 1972 when the National Order of the Arrow Committee voted to approve the establishment of a region chief position (prior to 1972, the Boy Scouts of America was organized into ten regions, and beginning in 1972, the national structure was divided into six regions). The first region chiefs, along with the national chief and national vice chief, were elected in December of 1974 and served two-year terms. Along with this new level of youth leadership came the creation of a “regional OA committee”, similar to the national structure, that includes a chairman who is recommended for service on the regional Scouting committee and the region chief, who serves as a youth representative on the regional board. According to The History of the Order of the Arrow by Dr. Kenneth Davis, the approval of the regional Order of the Arrow structure proved to be one of the key accomplishments of the Order in the 1970s. The regional leadership brought positive effects to the Order in terms of outreach, communications, and field programs.

The next major change in regional structure came to the Order of the Arrow in December of 1984 when the committee made the change to limit the national officer’s term to one year as opposed to two-year terms that had been in place since the 1974 elections. Finally, in 1992, the BSA structure included the four regions that are currently in place today, which resulted in the creation of the Central Region, Boy Scouts of America. The new region was a merging of the East Central and North Central regions, and the regional headquarters moved to where it was until 2009 in Naperville, Illinois. Today, all regional offices have been moved to Boy Scouts of America headquarters in Texas.

Throughout the history of the regional structure of the Order of the Arrow, we in the Central Region have been blessed to be under the leadership of extraordinary Region Chiefs and Chairmen. We honor them below:

Past Central Region Leadership

YearRegion ChiefRegion Chairman
2019Brandon StahlAlyx Parker
2018Will CootsAlyx Parker
2017Taylor GilesDan Segersin
2016Logan GreeneDan Segersin
2015Joey DierdorfDan Segersin
2014Ricky AngelettiDan Segersin
2013Mike GrayDan Segersin
2012Marty OpthoffChris Grove
2011Collin HuerterChris Grove
2010Richie FeroloChris Grove
2009Michael BeckmanChris Grove
2008Tyler ElliottChris Grove
2007Don HoughChris Grove
2006Russ BresnahanR.D. Dunkin
2005Paul JensenR.D. Dunkin
2004Joe SadewesserR.D. Dunkin
2003Adam EnersonR.D. Dunkin
2002Brian HerrenR.D. Dunkin
2001Dominique BakerR.D. Dunkin
2000Luke WolfeR.D. Dunkin
1999Aaron KreagerR.D. Dunkin
1998Ryan KingR.D. Dunkin
1997Jason AccolaR.D. Dunkin
1996JJ ArnoldR.D. Dunkin
1995Alyx ParkerR.D. Dunkin
1994Kyle BrownPat Ross, R.D. Dunkin
1993Joel ShapiroPat Ross

Past North Central Region Leadership

YearRegion ChiefRegion Chairman
1992Ray RidgewayBrad Haddock
1991Dean FrommeltGene Schnell, Brad Haddock
1989Chris BeldenGene Schnell
1988Daniel FeeBrad Haddock, Gene Schnell
1987Steve MeinholdBrad Haddock
1986Andrew WrightBrad Haddock
1985Kevin HulaE.D. Paulson, Brad Haddock
1982-84Darrel BiekerJack Virtue, M.J. Coyle
1980-82Arnold HeckJack Virtue
1978-80Roger HoymeSid North, Jack Virtue
1976-78Charles ClabotsSid North
1974-76Ron AmenGeorge Feil, Sid North

Past East Central Region Leadership

YearRegion ChiefRegion Chairman
1992Charles P. Taylor
1991Art StevensKen Grimes
1989Mike HartmanC. Younkman
1988Kevin BokeschEdward Pease, C. Younkman
1987Skip Van BloemEdward Pease
1986Jon JonesRay Lee, Edward Pease
1985Matt SorensenRay Lee
1982-84Rick WoodwardRay Lee
1980-82Rob AkesBob Bradshaw
1978-80Brian KasalBob Bradshaw
1976-78Larry EwaskaBob Bradshaw
1974-76Max MillerBob Bradshaw

Past National Chiefs/Vice Chiefs Hailing From the Central Region

We also honor those Arrowmen from the Central Region that were elected to provide national leadership to the Order of the Arrow:

2019Eric HarrisonNational Vice Chief
2018Michael KippNational Vice Chief
2011Dan DickNational Vice Chief
2010Brad LichotaNational Chief
2009Jack O’NeillNational Chief
2008Benjamin StilwillNational Vice Chief
2006Chris SchildknechtNational Vice Chief
2004Jeff HaywardNational Chief
2003Rich MooreNational Vice Chief
1997Chris RogersNational Chief
1996Ryan MiskeNational Vice Chief
1995Josh FeigelsonNational Chief
1994Kyle TannerNational Vice Chief
1990Tony SteinhardtNational Vice Chief
1989Wade HerbransonNational Vice Chief
1983Bob WadeNational Chief
1980Kevin MollNational Vice Chief
1975Brad HaddockNational Chief
1971Jim WidmaierNational Vice Chief
1967Robert SzczysNational Chief
1965Michael S. CostelloNational Chief
1963Gerald R. McNellisNational Vice Chief
1961Ron TempleNational Chief
1958James W. KolkaNational Chief

The above information was gathered through research of the History of the Order of the Arrow, 3rd edition by Dr. Ken Davis.